Seventy-five hours of my life have been poured into this project, but I have never been more passionate about the garden than when I went to Winthrop this Sunday.

DSC_2400.jpg

It was reassuring to see the wildflowers blooming and I took pictures of the tiny wildflower seeds sticking their heads above the ground, but those weren’t the most amazing part of the trip. What really amazed me were the three baby bees I saw hatching from their cocoons.

Before I went, I watched some videos of bees hatching, but they didn’t do it justice. The way the bees clicked their tiny bodies as they gnawed out of their little cocoons was a miracle. As soon as the mason bees poked their tiny antennae out, they wiggled their bodies out of their tiny prisons. Then they shook their wings dry and flew off in squiggling lines towards the horizon.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When I looked at the wildflowers, I didn’t see any of the bees eating, but I did see several female bees flying into the circular shaped holes in the shelter. Obviously, they found enough nutrients to hatch their eggs and continue the life cycle of their species.

For those of you who are so unfortunate as to never see a bee hatch in person, check out the video posted on my Facebook page. Hopefully you’ll find it as inspiring as I did.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

